My Remarkable Trip to Kuwait: Part 6

SandstormOn Wednesday I witnessed a sandstorm here in Kuwait, and I want to tell you about sandstorms because when I saw my first one it was so interesting to me. Sand filled the air and swirled around like a dusty cloud, and I thought it was pretty cool because of the way that it made everything look hazy. In the middle of it, I could not even see the buildings across the street, which are usually easily visible!

Now that I’ve told you about my experience with sandstorms, I want to tell you some of the facts.  Sandstorms arise when strong winds blow loose sand and dirt from a dry surface. A sand storm to me basically just sounds like it is a blizzard with swirling sand instead of snow. Sandstorms usually last between one to two hours. It has been argued that recently, poor management of the earth’s dry lands, such as neglecting the fallow system, are increasing dust storm size and frequency from desert margins and changing both the local and global climate, and also impacting local economies. 

These facts that I and you just found out are, in my own opinion, and hopefully yours as well, very helpful and also extremely interesting; however, I still have a few more questions about sandstorms that I want to find answers to. Some of my questions are:

  • What damage can sandstorms do?
  • When do sandstorms usually come?
  • Are sandstorms hurting the environment or are they not terrible?

I want to get answers to these questions because when the next sandstorm comes, I want to be able to know exactly what is going on at exactly that moment. I bet that someday you to will be able to see a sandstorm of your own and now you will also know what is happening.

I have done some more research, and now I have some answers regarding my questions above. I found out something terrible about sandstorms that is actually quite scary; sandstorms can cause choking and can also cause destruction of peoples’ homes. Another answer that I got to my questions is that sandstorms usually come once the weather starts to turn warm in the spring. I also just found out how dust storms affect the environment: through soil loss of nutrients, organic matter, and soil fertility, which are transported along with the dust that is blown away in the storm, resulting in low agriculture productivity.

Sandstorms can do a lot of damage, so that makes them pretty bad. I am now happy that I know these facts about sandstorms so that next time I get a chance to see one, I will know what I can expect to happen.

Thank you for reading and I hope that I have informed you well. Check back often!

Please note that the facts on sandstorms in this post came from the following sources:

Ask.com

Weather Questions

Wikipedia

4 thoughts on “My Remarkable Trip to Kuwait: Part 6

  1. Wow, Rose, I was intrigued by your article on sand storms! I bet there’s nothing quite like being in the middle of it! What an experience, Sweetie! I’m so proud of you for doing such good research on the subject! All my love, Gramma

  2. Very interesting, Rosie! You are really learning a lot while you are in Kuwait. I hope you tell us more about your adventures. Love, Aunt Peg

  3. Wow. That must have been scary up close. Were you able to be outdoors during the storm Rosie? Were you scared? I would be.

Leave a Reply

